Naples Under Vesuvius

NAPLES, CAMPANIA, ITALY – After years of fantasizing about the ruins that surrounded it and the pizza found within it, I finally made my way to Naples in early 2010.

I searched endlessly for the perfect place to stay, and eventually found a wonderfully reviewed hostel called Buonanotte & Buongiorno, perched in the hilly district known as Vomero. I arrived in the rain, wandered down an endless staircase and was greeted at the entrance by Andrea, the hostel owner. He was the type of owner who gave his guests rides around the city, left fresh pastry and coffee for us in the morning, explained to us the mentality of and spirituality of Naples, different from the rest of Italy. He told me of an amazing pizzeria nearby, which I returned to almost every night of my trip (do I even need to say it? It was the best I’ve ever had, without contest.) Since I was there for an extended stay and because it was the low season, he put me in the biggest room – with a hammock among beds for five, an upstairs loft, and a balcony with this view.

I definitely picked the right place.

Naples Under Vesuvius

                                                                                   Click on the image to view a larger size
Leave a Reply

