Victoria Peak, Hong Kong

HONG KONG, HONG KONG (SAR) – I ended up stranded, completely without identification and near penniless the first time I ventured across the border from China into Hong Kong. After an afternoon running around the city trying to figure out a way to survive the three days I would be stuck there (which included an interesting introduction to the American consulate and an even more interesting introduction to Chungking Mansions, 80 hostels stuffed into a single building – famous on the Golden Mile) I managed to locate enough money to survive, and ducked into a bookstore to flip through a guide book and see what I could do in the city for free.

I discovered that heading up to Victoria Peak and arguably the best view the city had to offer was very low cost, and luckily I had thought to bring my camera along when I crossed the border. Up to the top of the mountain I went, and this is the viewed that I found. It looks down over the skyscrapers of Hong Kong Island, jutting out from amongst the lush greenery, across the harbor to the sprawl of Kowloon on the mainland side. It’s magnificent. I spent the day on the peak, writing in my notebook, taking pictures at different times from midday through the late evening, falling in love with an Asian city for the first time.

Hong Kong became a favorite of mine, and was always a welcome escape from life in China. I miss it constantly. I miss this view.

Victoria Peak

                                                                                   Click on the image to view a larger size
3 thoughts on “Victoria Peak, Hong Kong

  1. Oh my! I can’t imagine what I would have done in a similar situation. Great that you found your way to Victoria Peak… You were lucky to get a clear day with such a fab view. I live nearby and the view never ceases to amaze me 🙂

    • I am honestly amazed that I did not freak out more than I did – I feel like I was extremely lucky to have everything work out, though… and then I had a nice extended weekend to explore HK! Not so bad after all. 😉

      And, I agree. That view never stops being fantastic.

Leave a Reply

